Anoka Auto Repair

(763) 270-0424
Mon - Fri: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
5

Fantastic service, timely, efficient and great price. Felt taken care of and not hassled. Will return!

5

Fantastic service, timely, efficient and great price. Felt taken care of and not hassled. Will return!

5

1

1

Contacted Honest 1 regarding a 1998 Chevy Silverado dually that needed a blower and was not starting. The gentlemen was nice as I explained the background on the truck. Bought from my brother who passed, it had been sitting but was running great prior, and just needed it on the road as I had put 6000.00 in it over the last couple years. I mentioned possibly the starter due to it hesitating, but I really had no idea. I towed it to the shop after hours. They contacted me with a bill just under $600.00 for a battery and full diagnostic testing along with a very long list including light bulbs etc. My question is if it was in the parking lot - wouldn't they have needed to jump it to get it in the shop and therefore figure out it was the battery right then. The 600.00 did not even include the blower I requested which would have been around $400.00 more. When I called them back a different man pretty much went off on me explaining they had to do that in order to figure it out. If the shop cannot diagnose a battery, then how can I put any trust in them whatsoever. HORRILE!

Hi Brenda- we're sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. We do need to set the record straight, however. We charged you $420.45 for work you authorized prior to us performing it, not $600. We performed a starting and charging system test to verify the both your batteries failed load testing. Then we replaced your starting battery, cleaned the battery tray and connections, and performed an oil change. You declined the blower motor replacement we quoted you $324 for, not $400. I'm not sure how that makes us "HORRILE!"- we did exactly what you approved for a very fair price. Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and have a great day!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
4

Thank you for leaving us feedback Ken! We'll do our best to deliver a 5 star experience next time!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
5

Hi Vincent- thank you so much for the 5 star rating!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
5

Rear brakes squeaking. Told the wait would be several hours. I asked to get a loaner car and that was provided. The brakes ended up having a lot more life left and didn't need replacing. The squeaking probably due to cheaper materials used when new brakes were installed at the dealership when the car was purchased.

Thank you for the 5 star review and for trusting us with your vehicle, Lisa! We're glad we could help!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
5

They replaced 3 sensors that were very difficult to get to. They were professional, kind, honest and the price was reasonable. My truck runs perfectly now!

Thanks Mike! We appreciate your 5 star review and kind words!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
1

Went in to change my rotors and brakes. Ended up fixing issues relating to engine light and traction control light. Supposedly my filter was changed and issues fixed. Next day had to take it back in. Lights came back on. Now it’s another issue that needs to be fixed. Air filter was supposedly changed but driving it for two days, to and from work only. Decided to look at filter and when I checked the air filter it looked old with lots of gunk stuck in between the creases. Old sides and looks like they tried to air blow it to clean it up only. Hummm…makes me wonder what else they cheated me on. I spend $1500 and I will not return. Cannot be trusted.

Hi Plang- we're very sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. But I feel that we do need to set the record straight for what actually happened with your vehicle. It's not uncommon for 13 year old vehicles with 160k miles to have multiple issues due to miles, age, and improper maintenance. Your vehicle arrived at our shop with grinding brakes, check engine light on, traction control light on, and airbag light on. You authorized us to replace your rear brakes, and diagnose and repair your airbag issue and check engine light issue. At that time, we advised that you had a failed O2 sensor and that definitely needed to be replaced BUT you may also need to replace the catalytic converter. That note and all details are printed directly on your invoice. Also, you DECLINED to allow us to replace your air filter and diagnose the traction control light issue. We did not replace your air filter and you were not billed for it- that is why it's still dirty. When you came back in 2 days later, we confirmed that the catalytic converter was also plugged due to driving for an extended period of time with a failed O2 sensor. You declined the repair and did not want an estimate for replacement. We didn't do anything wrong and did not cheat you in any way. We do apologize for any communication errors on our part and, as always, we offer a 3 year, 36,000 mile warranty on repairs and service. If there is a problem with anything we did we'll be happy to make it right! Thank you again for your feedback and have a great day!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
Honest 1 Anoka is committed to ensuring effective communication and digital accessibility to all users. We are continually improving the user experience for everyone, and apply the relevant accessibility standards to achieve these goals. We welcome your feedback. Please call Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka (763) 270-0424 if you have any issues in accessing any area of our website.