Happy 4th of July
We will be closed July 4th

We apologize for any inconvenience. Happy 4th of July!

Anoka Auto Repair

(763) 270-0424updated hours:
Mon - Fri: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
5

Thank you for the 5 star rating Gabe!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
5

Hi Chris- thank you for the 5 star review!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
5

Probably the kindest auto shop i’ve been to. Got scammed on a car, and it ended up having brake issues and couldn't move - Honest 1 fixed it for a very reasonable price! Another brake issue popped up the next day after I’d driven back to MPLS, and they fixed it for free day of. Never recommending a different shop!

Hi Jordynn- thank you for 5 star review and for trusting us with your vehicle!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
5

Thank you so much for the 5 star rating Sarah!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
0.5

I have been doing business with Honest-1 Anoka for many years, and over those years I felt that I could trust them. That's why I continued taking my vehicles to them. With only a couple of exceptions, I felt that they did good work and the repairs were necessary. Well, recently, my trust in them has come crashing down to an all time low point. Here's why: Last week, I had my 2006 Chevy pickup truck towed to them because the engine died while idling at a gas station, and before it died, the oil pressure warning message stated "No Oil Pressure". I could not get it restarted because the battery was in poor condition (That's why I kept it ideling while getting gas). After being at Honest-1 for about a day, Tim (one of their employees) called to give me the bad news about my truck. He stated that the engine had seized from running with no oil pressure. He told me his mechanic confirmed it by putting a wrench on the output shaft of the engine and he tried to rotate it. He said it barely moved, and then they tried to restart it with a battery jumper to no avail. He also said they they drained the oil and it had coolant mixed in with it. I asked him what the cost would be to replace the engine, and he said that type of V8 engine, new or rebuilt, is not currently available from GM, but I could have them install a used engine for (hold on to your seat folks) SIX THOUSAND DOLLARS! Then soon after he quoted me that ridulous high cost for a used engine, he told me that the mechanic who worked on it would offer me $800 for the truck (that's eight hundred dollars!). Do you smell something fishy here? I sure did! Anyhow, I decided to take my truck to another mechanic to get a "second opinion". That experience with Honest-1 cost me $190.00 which included their "diagnostic" charge, and the towing cost. My wife's brother-in-law recommended a truely honest mechanic in Oak Grove. I had my truck towed to him, and long story short, HE FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT! Asside from the oil having a little condensation in it, the truck started for him and it ran perfectly normal. He said what likely happened to cause the oil pressure to go to zero was condensation got in the oil (that was during a very cold, below zero, Winter day) and froze when it accumulated in the oil filter. That stopped the oil from circulating, but an engine would not seize after running without oil flow for less than 30 seconds. The mechanic changed the oil and filter, and installed a new battery. Total cost: $265.00. The truck is still running just fine. Needless to say, I am VERY disappointed in Honest-1.

Thank you for your feedback and your prior business. We understand the news about your truck was disappointing but we stand firmly behind our diagnosis. As part of your inspection we included a video of us draining the oil out of your truck and it looked like chocolate milk- it was very heavily contaminated with coolant which only happens when there are internal problems with your engine. In addition, you engine was seized when it arrived at our shop and your battery failed load test. We got your engine freed up a bit and put in fresh oil so whatever "condensation" your other technician noted was new as we completely drained and refilled your engine with fresh oil. In our professional opinion and 30+ years of experience your engine has serious damage and will need extensive repairs or replacement very soon. And to set the record straight, we didn't offer to purchase your vehicle until you declined repairs and indicated you were going to sell the vehicle. Please contact us if you would like further details of our diagnostic testing and findings.

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
5

They were fast and did a good job. I would go back if I had to.

Thank you for your business and 5 star review!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
0.5

These people will rip you off just for as much as they can. They told me I need a whole new exhaust system. I took it for a second opinion. Here part of the exhaust fell off one of the hooks, the guy at the other shop put it back on for free. Saved me $5000. He was actually mad that they tried to do that to me. The whole shop was angry. I was looking at my carfax reports recently and here they replaced my spark plugs 3 times in the span of about 3 years. Spark plugs are not suppose to be changed that often. Don't get fooled by these jokers they way I did after my husband died and I needed someone to work on my car. I ended up getting taken to the cleaners. Not anymore. I wouldn't even let them change my oil after the stunts they have pulled on me. They should be ashamed of themselves. I left my name and email but you better NOT contact me about this review. It is all true and I am still very angry about all that has happen to me at this place. How dare you do this to people. There is enough repairs to be made on cars without Making stuff up that doesn't need to be repaired. I hope you sleep good at night. Because you shouldn't.

Hi Denise- thank you for your feedback. We apologize for not properly communicating. Our records indicate you brought your vehicle in for service complaining of your AC not working and your check engine light being on. Our diagnostic testing indicated that you had a failed catalytic converter and we recommended replacement of the entire exhaust system at that time due to rust and damage. We also quoted to fix your AC, and replace your worn out tires and failing battery. We did not quote you $5000 for an "exhaust system". We take pride in our work and in giving all our customers a complete inspection and and honest assessment of their vehicle condition so they can make informed decisions. We send this information to you complete with notes, pictures, and videos in our digital inspection so you know we aren't making stuff up and can easily verify our recommendations.

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
1

I do not recommend this place at all. They have put new spark plugs in 3 times in the last 3 years. Spark plugs do not get put in that often. They tried to replace my whole exhaust system, luckily I took it in for a second opinion and it had come off one of the hooks. The guy at the second place save me $5000. They will try to get you to spend as much money as they can. They should be ashamed of themselves. I wouldn't even let them change my oil. Please please go somewhere else and do not give these rip off artists your hard earned money or at least get a second opinion like I did. It could save you $5000.

5

Brought my Kia in because I had an issue with it and the folks here were happy to help me out and were friendly & courteous throughout the entire process. Highly recommended!!!

Thanks Elijah! We appreciate your business and kind words!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
5

These guys truly live up to the name "Honest One." More than once they have told me I did not need service that I thought I did. They repeatedly go out of their way to make sure the customer is happy. This one always is. I have another mechanic I use as well, but these guys charge less for the smaller stuff that they are able to do. Highly recommended.

Hi Greg- thank you for trusting us with your vehicle and for the 5 star review!

- Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka
Honest 1 Anoka is committed to ensuring effective communication and digital accessibility to all users. We are continually improving the user experience for everyone, and apply the relevant accessibility standards to achieve these goals. We welcome your feedback. Please call Honest-1 Auto Care Anoka (763) 270-0424 if you have any issues in accessing any area of our website.